Rome in a Day

33, 564 steps. 16.8 miles. 14 hours. 15 major sites and monuments. It was quite the day.

Our Rome day trip was spontaneous and not part of my original plan, mostly because I didn’t think Rome in a day would be worthwhile. Luckily, Emma had already been to Rome and spent a couple hours creating a perfect day’s itinerary.

Very different from Naples, Rome is undoubtedly more touristy, but still somehow manages to maintain its historical feel. I loved it, and I cannot wait to go back. We also were able to attend the Pope’s General Audience since we went on Wednesday! I may not be Catholic, or even religious, but seeing Pope Francis was surreal.

The food during my whole trip was amazing, but the truffle mortadella sandwich I had at lunch will forever be in my dreams. I finally ate some authentic carbonara pasta at dinner, but that was also when my lactose intolerant stomach gave up after a week of too much cheese.

 

Our Rome in a day:

  • Vatican City and Pope’s Address
  • St. Peter’s Basilica
  • Vatican Museum
  • Sistine Chapel
  • Lunch at La Prosciutteria Navona
  • Piazza Navona
  • Pantheon
  • Church of St. Ignatius of Loyola
  • St. Loyola
  • Trevi Fountain
  • Spanish Steps
  • Roman Forum
  • Colosseum
  • Santa Maria Maggiore
  • Dinner at Sapori e Delizie
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑