Day 1: This is real?

So, here I am. I’ve dreamed of studying abroad since high school, and I’ve been dreaming of Paris my whole life.
 I managed to make it from Charles de Gualle to Gare du Nord using the train (it was a struggle with my bags that combined weigh as much as I do), but it was incredible to see the train going through the outskirts of Paris. Once I reached Gare du Nord, I began to realize how out of practice my spoken French is, but make it to my AirBnB.
After barely sleeping on my red-eye from Washington DC to Dublin, and from Dublin to Paris, I take a two hour nap before setting out to explore the surrounding Montemarte area, in particular La Basilique du Sacré-Cœur.
One the way there from my AirBnB, I wandered a bit, getting lost here and there, smelling the pâtisseries, observing the French people, and climbing lots and lots of stairs before making it to the Sacré-Cœur.

 

While wandering, I was also building up the courage to eat at a cafe; more specifically, the courage to test my French alone. I ordered an espresso and crêpe, and quickly googled if you are supposed to tip in France (FYI: it’s included in the bill).
The sun was starting to set, and phone battery was running low, so I made my way back to the AirBnB to prepare for the next day, when I would be moving across Paris to meet my host family.
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑